In honorable memory of the distinguished German chemist, Dr. Karl Wamsler, a formative personality of the German chemical industry, Clariant has donated the Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award to the Technical University of Munich. The annual prize is awarded to scientists who have created innovative momentum with industrial potential in the field of catalysis research.

The jury considers groundbreaking work that has been documented in scientific journals or the patent literature, and which originated in an academic or industrial research environment. The award is endowed with 50,000 €.

The award winners:

Veronique van Speybroeck is full professor at Ghent University and director/co-founder of the Center for Molecular Modeling (CMM). She received the 2023 Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award “for her contributions to modeling nanoporous materials for catalysis and simulating complex chemical transformations at operating conditions”.

Matthew J. Gaunt is holder of the Yusuf Hamied 1702 Chair of Chemistry at the University of Cambridge. He received the 2022 Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award “for his contributions to the field of synthetic organic chemistry and homogeneous catalysis, especially visible light-mediated photoredox catalysis and photochemistry”.

Kyoko Nozaki is a full professor at the University of Tokyo. She received the Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award in 2021 “in recognition of her ground-breaking work on utilizing carbon dioxide and sophisticated polymerization catalysis with organometallic complexes”.

Yang Shao-Horn is W.M. Keck Professor of Energy and Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She received the Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award in 2020 „in appreciation of her visionary electrocatalysis research, developing universal guiding principles to understand and optimize charge transfer at the solid-gas and solid-liquid interface to store energy in chemical bonds“.

Wolfgang A. Herrmann has been the President of the Technical University of Munich from 1995 to 2019 and is Professor emeritus of Inorganic Chemistry. He received the Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award in 2019 "in recognition of his extraordinary life's work both as a scientist and as a pioneer, role model and catalyst of higher education in his role as President".

Stephen L. Buchwald is Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He received the Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award in 2018 “in appreciation of his extraordinary contributions to the art and science of catalytic synthetic methods, especially for CC- and CN-coupling reactions with their impact on organic synthesis and the pharmaceutical industry”.

Matthias Beller is the Executive Director of the Leibniz Institute for Catalysis at the University of Rostock. He received the Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award in 2017 “in recognition of his internationally outstanding innovations in the field of interdisciplinary homogenous and heterogeneous catalysis, through which he has made possible innovative and environmentally friendly applications in the chemical industry”.